Shah Rukh Khan To Illuminate WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony With Star Power
By CricShots - Feb 22, 2024 9:00 am
Views 11

Superstar Shah Rukh Khan is gearing up to grace the stage at the opening ceremony of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) second season, adding a touch of glamour and star power to the cricketing extravaganza. The announcement, made by the WPL’s social media team, has ignited a wave of anticipation among fans, making the event even more eagerly awaited.

Shahrukh Khan
Shahrukh Khan

In a social media post, WPL revealed that the owner of the Kolkata team in the IPL and Bollywood icon, Shah Rukh Khan, will be taking centre stage during the opening ceremony. Joining him in the star-studded lineup of performers are other popular actors such as Shahid Kapoor, Kartik Aaryan, Varun Dhawan, and Tiger Shroff.

“Get ready, folks! It’s none other than Shah Rukh Khan who will celebrate Cricket ka Queendom!” announced WPL on their ‘X’ handle.

WATCH – Vamshhi Krrishna Joins Elite Club With Six Consecutive Sixes In CK Nayudu Trophy

The excitement is not limited to the star-studded performances, as the second season of WPL is set to kick off on February 23. The opening match will feature last year’s finalists, Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, battling it out at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The tournament, scheduled until March 17, promises a thrilling ride for cricket enthusiasts, with matches taking place in Bengaluru and Delhi.


Delhi and Bengaluru will share the spotlight as co-hosts of the tournament, featuring five teams—UP Warriorz, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Giants, Delhi Capitals, and Mumbai Indians—competing for the prestigious trophy.

The format of the WPL 2024 season mirrors that of the previous year, with the top three teams from the league stage advancing to the playoffs. The team leading the league standings secures a direct entry into the final, while the second and third-placed teams face off in the Eliminator on March 15.

ALSO READ: Michael Atherton Recommends Bowling Changes For England Ahead Of Ranchi Test

Following the inaugural season’s success, where the Mumbai Indians, led by India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, clinched the championship by defeating Meg Lanning’s Delhi Capitals, cricket enthusiasts are in for an exhilarating experience with the much-anticipated second season of WPL.