Team India registered a narrow win over Bangladesh in their second last game of the Super 12 stage in the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2022 on Wednesday, November 3 by five runs through the DLS as rain interrupted play after the 7th over in the second innings. Following the loss to the Men in Blue, skipper Shakib Al Hasan had a go at one of the reporters during the post-match press conference.
The reporter said that the Bangladesh skipper tried ‘not to return’ to play after the rain delay in the match against India in Adelaide. However, the skipper did not hold back and swiftly responded to the reporter.
Here is the video of the incident:
Here is the excerpt of the conversation:
The reporter asked – “Shakib, bad luck. Did you really try not to play after the rain? What was the discussion that went through?”
Shakib Al Hasan: “Do we have any option?”
What followed was the conversation slowly heating up but Shakib Al Hasan kept his cool and responded in a calm demeanor.
Reporter: “No option, but that’s the reason. Did you try to convince them?”
Shakib: “Convince whom?”
Reporter: “The umpire and Rohit Sharma.”
Shakib: “Do I have the ability to convince the umpire?”
Reporter: “Then you are discussing something about river of Bangladesh”
Reporter: “You were talking about the rivers and their roles in Bangladesh? What were you talking?”
Shakib: “Now you’re asking the right question. So, the umpire called both the captains, told us the target and what the playing rules will be.”
Reporter: “And you accepted it?”
Reporter: “Beautiful. Thank you”
Bangladesh did start off well and looked like they could pull off something magical but are now on the brink of getting knocked out of the mega ICC event.
While India is inching closer toward the final four, South Africa will look to win their match against Pakistan and the Netherlands and seal their berth in the semis too. Despite Bangladesh having slim chances, their final match against Pakistan will prove to be a tricky one to progress any further.