Shamarh Brooks Replaces Shimron Hetmyer, Who Missed His Flight
By CricShots - Oct 4, 2022 11:53 am
Views 83

The fiery West Indies batter, Shimron Hetmyer has been replaced by Shamarh Brooks in the West Indies T20 World Cup squad 2022. The Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced the decision after Hetmyer missed his rescheduled flight to Australia, which had been changed from October 1 at his request due to some personal reasons. A seat for him to leave Guyana on October 3 was arranged but Hetmyer informed the Director of Cricket that he will not be able to reach the airport in time to get into the flight.

Shamarh Brooks
Shamarh Brooks

In an official statement confirming the same, CWI said, “This afternoon we informed the CWI Board of Directors that the Selection Panel had unanimously decided to replace Shimron Hetmyer with Shamarh Brooks in our T20 World Cup squad. Whilst we changed Shimron’s flight from Saturday to Monday due to family reasons, it was made clear to him that if there were any further delays and issues with his travel to Australia then we would have no choice but to replace him in the squad.”

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Officially Gets Ruled Out Of The T20 World Cup 2022

He further added, “As we are not prepared to compromise the team’s ability to prepare for this extremely important global event. Shamarh has been a part of our recent T20 International squads and delivered strong performances in the latter stages of the recently concluded CPL. He will fly out as soon as possible this week to Australia.”

Shimron Hetmyer 

West Indies are placed in Group B alongside Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland in Round 1 of the competition. Under the captaincy of Nicholas Pooran, the West Indies will be commencing its campaign against Scotland in Hobart on October 17. Ahead of the T20 World Cup, West Indies will play two T20Is against Australia as part of their preparation.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli And KL Rahul To Be Rested From The Final T20 Against Proteas

West Indies squad for T20 World Cup:

Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Obed Mccoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith.