Shaun Tait names his all-time ODI XI; selects four Indian players
By SMCS - Aug 14, 2021 4:08 pm
Views 4.6K

Former Australia player Shaun Tait was considered as one of the best during his time for the pace and incredible ability to bowl consistently above 150 kmph as well. But injuries at regular intervals has cut short his career, and because of that, he failed to seal his place in the team as well.

Sachin Tendulkar

The member of the 2007 World Cup-winning side, he represented Australia in 3 Tests, 35 ODIs and 21 T20Is, claiming 5, 62 and 28 wickets, respectively. However, he had played with and against some of the best players, especially in the 50-over format. And recently, he has revealed his all-time ODI XI in a chat with Sportskeeda as well.

Shaun Tait picked Adam Gilchrist and Virender Sehwag as openers because of their aggressiveness at the top order. “I am going to go with Adam Gilchrist and (Virender) Sehwag. I like aggressiveness at the top of the order,” said Tait.

READ HERE: Washington Sundar all set to miss second phase of IPL 2021

For a strong middle-order, he selected legendary batters like Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara. While Tendulkar (18.426) and Ponting (13,704) are the highest run-getters for their respective nations in the format, Lara (10,405) is the second-highest run-scorer for West Indies as well.

Shaun Tait picked Indian captain Virat Kohli also. For number seven, he chose former India captain, MS Dhoni. Both Kohli (12,169) and Dhoni (10,773) belong to the list of players who have scored more than 10,000 runs in ODI cricket as well.

bumrah dhoni
MS Dhoni led Team India when Bumrah made his debut

“Batting at No. 3, I’ll have to go with Ricky Ponting. No. 4 would be Sachin Tendulkar, and No. 5 is Brian Lara. Can Virat Kohli bat at No. 6? Is that fine? I am going to squeeze in MS Dhoni at No. 7,” added Shaun Tait.

READ HERE: Suryakumar Yadav refers to Prithvi Shaw as a showstopper

In the bowling department, he named three pacers and a spinner – Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar and Shane Warne. Akram (502) is the second-highest wicket-taker of all time in the format while McGrath (381) is the leading wicket-taker for his team. On the other hand, Warne picked up 393 scalps while Akhtar picked up 247 wickets in ODI cricket.

Here is the all-time ODI XI of Shaun Tait:

Virender Sehwag, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brain Lara, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar