Sourav Ganguly To Lead India Maharajas Against World Giants
By CricShots - Aug 12, 2022 6:16 pm
Views 55

Former Indian skipper and BCCI president, Sourav Ganguly will be leading lead India Maharajas in the match against World Giants led by England’s 2019 World Cup-winning skipper, Eoin Morgan in a special match of Legends League Cricket dedicated to the 75th year celebration of Indian Independence. The match will be of utmost importance and it will be played on September 16 at the Eden Garden in Kolkata.

sourav ganguly
Sourav Ganguly

Apart from Ganguly, the 17-member India Maharajas squad includes big stars like Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh and Mohammed Kaif. On the other hand, the World team has at least one player from across 10 foreign countries. The league is scheduled to commence on September 17 wherein four teams in a franchise format will be competing in the Legends League Cricket. Overall, 15 matches will be played this season.

Legends League Commissioner, Ravi Shastri said, “This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating 75th year of our independence. As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year league to the 75th year of Independence celebration.”

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra comments on Dinesh Karthik’s comeback to the Indian T20I side

Raman Raheja, Co-Founder & CEO, of Legends League Cricket said, “We took this decision to be part of this year Independence Celebrations, considering that it’s a moment of pride for every Indian. Further, India Maharajas will be led by Sourav Ganguly and World Giants will be led by Eoin Morgan for the Social cause match on September 16. Thereafter the 4 Franchise owned teams would be competing in the league over 22 days.”

Ravi Shastri
Ravi Shastri

He further added, “We will soon be announcing the complete list of players in the overall pool of 100+ players available for pick up by the team franchises. Eden Garden has a long-standing legacy, and the stadium is a legend in itself. We are working on the finer details for the match at Kolkata with the CAB authorities for the necessary approvals and shall go ahead as advised by them.”

ALSO READ: Rohan Gavaskar opens up on Suryakumar Yadav’s position in India’s XI

India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (C), Virender Sehwag, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Subramaniam Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha (wk), Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma and Reetinder Singh Sodhi.

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior (wk), Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O Brien and Denesh Ramdin (wk).