Sourav Ganguly Excludes Virat Kohli From his All-time XI
By CricShots - May 14, 2022 12:43 pm
Views 45.7K

Former Indian skipper, Virat Kohli has often been touted as the modern legend of the game. Ever since he made his debut in 2008, he has had a plethora of achievements in his illustrious career and has gone on to become the poster boy of Indian cricket. He is an inspiration to millions of youngsters, who want to make it big in their lives. He is third on the list behind Sachin Tendulkar (100) and Ricky Ponting (71).

Sourav Ganguly and Virat Kohli

Though Virat Kohli is currently going through a rough patch, his records in the cricket world make him one of the greatest to have played this game. However, his name was left out when BCCI President and former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly picked his all-time playing 11 recently.

ALSO READ: Michael Vaughan advises Virat Kohli to rediscover himself

Well, a video shared by the Lord’s Cricket Ground’s official Youtube channel, from 2016, has resurfaced on social media and is going viral. In the video, Sourav Ganguly was asked to choose his all-time playing eleven. In which he ignored Virat Kohli, who was India’s Test captain then and by late 2016 had already established his legacy as one of the best to have ever picked up a bat.

For openers, Sourav Ganguly went with two southpaws- Australia’s Matthew Hayden and England’s Alastair Cook. Following them, Ganguly picked two of the legendary Indian batters — Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar. For the all-rounder’s role, Dada picked South African legend Jacques Kallis, and the wicket-keeper batsman’s position has been acquired by Sri Lanka’s remarkable stumper and batter, Kumar Sangakkara.

ALSO READ: Sachin Tendulkar Excludes Virat Kohli And MS Dhoni From His All-time XI

Surprisingly, Ganguly had Ricky Ponting at number 7, although he did mention that he isn’t chosen by the batting order. Ponting was also named as the captain of Ganguly’s side. He completed his playing xi by picking some legendary bowlers including Glenn McGrath, Dale Steyn, Shane Warne, and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Sourav Ganguly’s all-time XI: Matthew Hayden, Alastair Cook, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara, Ricky Ponting (C), Glenn McGrath, Dale Steyn, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan.