South Africa Appoints New Skipper For The T20I Series Against India
By CricShots - Feb 13, 2018 11:15 am
Views 0

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the 14-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India along with the new skipper. Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock getting ruled out of the limited overs series continue due to the injuries sustained during the ODI series.

JP Duminy will be the South African skipper in the T20I series

They have rested their key players like Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram, and the frontline bowlers as well. However, JP Duminy has been named the skipper of the young squad which also includes the experienced AB de Villiers.

Also read: SA fined for slow over-rate

Heinrich Klaasen’s heroics in the Johannesburg ODI has earned him the place in the shortest format as well. Even the batsman Christiaan Jonker and the pacer Junior Dala have earned their maiden call-ups to the national squad as well. The key players have been rested by South Africa with the Test series against Australia set to commence on March 1. The first T20I against India will be played on February 18 at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

South African t20 squad

CSA National Selection Committee head Linda Zondi cleared that the players from the Test side have been rested for the upcoming Test series against Australia. He said, “With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer.”

Also read: Duminy acknowledges South Africa's mistakes

He further added, “These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series.”

Zondi also clarified that Imran Tahir is still their preferred spinner in the shorter formats and has been rested. He explained, “We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats. but we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament.”

South Africa T20I squad: JP Duminy (c), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.