Sports Ministry Physically Handed Over The National Sports Awards Of 2020, Ishant Sharma Among Recipient
By Aditya Pratap - Nov 1, 2021 8:22 pm
Views 220

The Sports Ministry of India has physically handed over trophies to all the winners of the last year’s National Sports Awards 2020 in a function that took place in New Delhi on November 1.

Anurag Thakur with the winners

The ministry couldn’t conduct the event last year owing to the coronavirus situation around the nation. They had sent the prize money to the winners but the trophies weren’t given until today.

Also Read: Ishant Sharma gets three stitches after being injured in WTC Final

On August 29, 2020, the Sports Ministry handed over a total of 74 National Sports Awards, including 5 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards and 27 Arjuna Awards.

Vinesh Phogat and Ishant Sharma were the highlights of the ceremony. While Ishant received Arjuna Award, Vinesh Phogat received Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

The ceremony was attended by several players including Rani Rampal, Vinesh Phogat and Mariyappan Thangavelu, who received the prestigious Khel Ratna Award, and Lovlina Borgohain, Ishant Sharma, Atanu Das, Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty, among others who received the Arjuna Award.

Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports Anurag Thakur was present during the ceremony along with Secretary Sports Minister Sujata Chaturvedi and Secretary of Youth Affairs Usha Sharma.

Also Read: Team India enjoys day off by playing beach volleyball, watch here

Addressing the awardees the minister said, “The National Sports Awards is a prestigious award that is won by athletes after years of dedication and hard work. Congratulations to all the awardees and the very best for their future events.

“The journey of the awardees doesn’t end here, there is more to be achieved. We must also continue to look for talented athletes, groom them and make them capable of winning medals at the international level. So, I request all the athletes to take the pledge of at least grooming and training five such athletes who can win medals for India in the future.”

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Mariyappan Thangavelu (Para-Athletics), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling), Rani Rampal (Hockey).

Arjuna Award: Atanu Das (Archery), Dutee Chand (Athletics), Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy (Badminton), Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty (Badminton), Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (Basketball), Manish Kaushik (Boxing), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Ishant Sharma (Cricket), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Sawant Ajay Anant (Equestrian), Sandesh Jhingan (Football), Aditi Ashok (Golf), Akashdeep Singh (Hockey), Deepika (Hockey), Deepak (Kabaddi), Kale Sarika Sudhakar (Kho Kho), Dattu Baban Bhokanal (Rowing), Manu Bhaker (Shooting), Saurabh Chaudhary (Shooting), Madhurika Patkar (Table Tennis), Divij Sharan (Tennis), Shiva Keshavan (Winter Sports), Divya Kakran (Wrestling), Rahul Aware (Wrestling), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (Para-Swimming), Sandeep (Para-Athletics), Manish Narwal (Para Shooting).