Sri Lankan Selectors Resigns After Series Of Losses To India
By CricShots - Aug 29, 2017 4:18 pm
Views 0
Sri Lanka Cricket Team

After Sri Lanka’s forgettable performance in recent international matches, the selection committee supervised by Sanath Jayasuriya has decided to submit their resignations.

last month, Sri Lanka lost the ODI series against Zimbabwe before being whitewashed by India in the recently concluded Test series. In the ODI series, the hosts are already trailing by 3-0 in the 5-match series.

The panel which consists of former batsmen Ranjith Madurasinghe, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Asanka Gurusinha and Eric Upashantha apart from Jayasuriya will be stepping down from their posts after the conclusion of India tour.

According to the recent reports of ESPNcricinfo, Sri Lanka;s sports ministry said, “Sri Lanka Cricket chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya, as well as committee members Ranjith Madurasinghe, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Asanka Gurusinha and Eric Upashantha, have decided to resign. A combined letter bearing the names of the above committee has conveyed this decision to sports minister Dayasiri Jayasekara. According to the letter, their tenure will end on September 7.”

Since the Islanders are still to play two ODIs and one T20I, the same selectors will decide any required changes in the squad in the upcoming matches. The same committee was given a six-month extension in May. The many changes in the Sri Lankan squad have also been hugely criticised with a number of players making their debut in the ODIs.