IPL 2024
Stellar Fielding Display: Sumit Kumar’s Brilliant Run-Out of Sai Sudharsan
By CricShots - Apr 17, 2024 8:25 pm
Views 23

In the recent showdown between Gujarat Titans and Delhi Capitals, fielding prowess took center stage as Delhi’s Sumit Kumar executed a remarkable run-out, dismissing Sai Sudharsan with precision and agility. Delhi Capitals’ decision to bowl first paid dividends early on, as they swiftly sent Shubman Gill back to the pavilion in the second over.

Sumit Kumar
Sumit Kumar ran out Sai Sudharsan

While Sai Sudharsan and Wriddhiman Saha aimed to stabilize Gujarat’s innings during the powerplay, Mukesh Kumar’s breakthrough removed the former, leaving Gujarat at 28/2 after four overs. However, it was Sumit Kumar’s exceptional fielding effort that proved to be the turning point.

WATCH – Mumbai Indians Practice Session: Intense Preparations For Clash Against PBKS

In the fifth over, Sai Sudharsan nudged a delivery from Ishant Sharma towards mid-wicket, setting off for a quick single alongside David Miller.

Yet, Sumit Kumar, positioned strategically at mid-wicket, exhibited remarkable agility as he collected the ball swiftly and unleashed a precise underarm throw, shattering the stumps and catching Sudharsan short of his crease. The on-field umpire referred the decision to the TV umpire, whose replay confirmed Sudharsan’s dismissal by a significant margin.

ALSO READ: IPL Ticket Prices Soar: From Modest to Sky-High, RCB Fans Feel The Pinch

Sumit Kumar’s stellar fielding display garnered widespread acclaim on social media, with comparisons drawn to legendary fielder Jonty Rhodes. His athleticism, anticipation, and quick decision-making embodied the essence of exceptional fielding in cricket, leaving fans and pundits alike in awe.

Here is the video of the brilliant run-out by Sumit Kumar:


Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Shubman Gill (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Sai Sudharsan, Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Spencer Johnson, Sandeep Warrier

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Tristan Stubbs, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed