Steve Smith wins Allan Border Medal for the second time
By Aditya Pratap - Feb 12, 2018 2:54 pm
Views 73

Cricket Australia (CA) honored Australia’s cricketers in the Allan Border Medal ceremony on Monday, where Steve Smith bagged the highest pride as being the cricketer of the year and won his second Allan Border Medal after a successful year with the bat.

Smith won Test player of the year as well.

Australian summer ended with Australia-England tri-nation T20I series fixture, which they won comfortably. It was a memorable home season for them as they regained the urn by defeating England in the Ashes. However, they One-Day International series turned out to be the lone dark stain on a white mark sheet.

Also Read: Smith is aware of the difficulties to play in South Africa

Smith also named the Test player of the year for his unbelievable run of form. He notched up six centuries in this period and rocketed to the second-highest ever Test rating with 947 points under his belt. He was sensational during India’s tour, where he reached three-figure mark thrice, while rest of the three came during the prestigious Ashes series. He was also ICC Test cricketer of the year.

David Warner

David Warner was adjudged One-Day International cricketer of the year. He was terrific with the bat in recent years and scored seven centuries in 2016. His opening partner Aaron Finch claimed T20 International player of the year while George Bailey secured the Domestic player of the year.

Ellyse Perry secured Belinda Clark Medal.

In women’s cricket, star Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Medal for being women cricketer of the year. She also won the ICC’s newly introduced Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for being the ICC’s women cricketer of the year.

Also Read: Australia to host T20 World Cup 2020

Here is the complete list of winners;

Allan Border Medal – Steve Smith

Belinda Clark Award – Ellyse Perry

Test Player of the Year – Steve Smith

ODI Player of the Year – David Warner

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – George Bailey

Female Domestic Player of the Year – Beth Mooney

T20 International Player of the Year – Aaron Finch

Bradman young cricketer of the Year – Jhye Richardson