IPL 2023
Sunil Gavaskar Mistakenly Calls Mohit Sharma As Mohammed Shami As The Highest Wicket Taker
By CricShots - May 7, 2023 9:41 pm
Views 30

Gujarat Titans (GT) churned out another dominating performance in the ongoing 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after dismantling Lucknow Super Giants in a one-sided contest in Ahmedabad. Following their victory, there was a slight confusion in the post-match presentation as former Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar mistook Mohit Sharma for Mohammed Shami as the Purple Cup holder.

Mohit Sharma
Mohit Sharma giving purple cap to Mohammed Shami

Hardik Pandya and his men dominated the match from the word go as they posted a mammoth total in their first innings, thanks to Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill’s carnage. The visitors did manage to threaten the hosts in the second innings, but as it panned out, they were no match for the Gujarat bowlers.

WATCH – Rashid Khan Takes An Exceptional Catch To Send Back Kyle Mayers

Gujarat’s Mohit Sharma, who returned with outstanding figures of 4/29 in his four overs, was seen handing his teammate Mohammed Shami the Purple Cap after the match. However, veteran Indian commentator Sunil Gavaskar mixed up the GT fast bowlers, saying Shami was handing the Purple Cap to Mohit. Sensibility prevailed as Mohit was quick to point out to the former Indian cricketer that it was the other way around, and he was handing the Cap to Shami.

Mohammed Shami became the Purple Cap after claiming Deepak Hooda’s wicket, his 19th wicket of IPL 2023. He is currently tied on 19 wickets with teammate Rashid Khan and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) pacer, Tushar Deshpande but got his hands on the Cap as he boasts of a better economy rate.

Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (c), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Had An Animated Chat With Ishant Sharma And Axar Patel

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock (wk), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya (c), Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Swapnil Singh, Yash Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Avesh Khan