T20 World Cup 2024
Suryakumar Yadav’s Spectacular Catch Defines India’s T20 World Cup Final Win
By CricShots - Jun 30, 2024 12:12 am
Views 89

In a thrilling finale of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 between India and South Africa, Suryakumar Yadav emerged as a hero with a spectacular catch under pressure, turning the tide in India’s favour. South Africa, chasing 177 for victory, found themselves in a tense situation needing 16 runs from the last over with David Miller at the crease.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav pulled off an improbable catch

Hardik Pandya, entrusted with bowling the final over, delivered a low full toss outside off, which Miller struck towards long off. Initially appearing destined for a boundary, the ball was intercepted by Suryakumar Yadav, stationed perfectly. Despite the momentum carrying him over the boundary rope after taking the catch, Suryakumar showed exceptional presence of mind. He tossed the ball up in the air before stepping back into play, completing a stunning catch.

WATCH – Axar Patel’s Hilarious Dismissal Of Tristan Stubbs Sparks Laughter

This pivotal dismissal of Miller effectively sealed the fate of the match as India clinched victory by 7 runs, securing their second T20 World Cup title after a gap of 17 years. The triumph marked a historic moment for Indian cricket, becoming the first Asian nation and third overall to win the tournament twice, following their maiden victory in 2007 under MS Dhoni’s captaincy.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)


Earlier in the match, India had posted a competitive total of 176 for 7, fueled by Virat Kohli’s resilient innings of 76 runs. South Africa’s Heinrich Klaasen’s rapid fifty had initially put pressure on India, but Hardik Pandya’s crucial breakthrough and Suryakumar Yadav’s match-winning catch ensured India’s victory in a thrilling encounter.

WATCH – Virat Kohli’s Vital Fifty Sparks Mixed Reactions in T20 World Cup 2024 Final

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah