Thisara Perera will don captain’s shoes in Lahore
By Aditya Pratap - Oct 18, 2017 4:03 am
Views 0

Thisara Perera will lead Sri Lankan T20I squad in the third match of the series at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium. Several big players have sacked their names from visiting Pakistan for the last match of this tour. Perera has played in Lahore during World XI’s three-match tour in September.

Reports from Cricket Age are suggesting that Dilshan Munaveera, Danushka Gunathilika, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Lahiru Gamage, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Sachith Senanayake, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekuge Prasanna, Ashan Priyanjan, Sadeera Samarwikrama and Niroshan Dickwela are named in the team for this marquee clash.

Earlier, only three players were willing to go Pakistan from the current ODI squad and Thisara Perera is among them. As limited-over skipper Upul Tharanga pulled his name out from playing in Lahore, the musical chair for skipper’s name had started and now Perera is ready to sit on it. Kusal Perera was also in headlines to lead the team but he is still recovering from his hamstring injury, which he picked during Champions Trophy in June.

Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga and Lasith Malinga are among the star players who denied playing in Pakistan. After seeing it, several other players also started neglecting this match, but the board is trying to convince them. However, Sri Lanka’s supporting staff has no issue in going to Pakistan and they have already given their green signal to the board.

The three-match T20 International series will begin from October 26 in UAE and the last game will be played in Lahore on October 29.