IPL 2023
Tilak Verma Smashes Mohammed Shami For 24 Runs
By CricShots - May 27, 2023 12:01 am
Views 31

In the ongoing Qualifier 2 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) between Gujarat Titans (GT) and Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Narendra Modi International Stadium in Ahmedabad, it was Shubman Gill who stole the show in the first innings. Gill played magnificent innings, scoring a remarkable 129 runs and guiding his team to a massive total of 233 runs on the board. His opening partnership was well-supported by the brilliant bowling performance of Mohammed Shami, who struck early to dismiss Nehal Wadhera (4) and Rohit Sharma (8).

Tilak Verma
Tilak Verma

At that point, it appeared that Mohammed Shami would continue wreaking havoc on MI’s batting lineup. However, young talent Tilak Varma had other plans as he took on Shami and unleashed a flurry of boundaries to bring his team back into the game.

WATCH – Hardik Pandya Was Astonished To See Shubman Gill Smashing 106m Six

In the sixth over, Tilak Varma took on Mohammed Shami and smashed him for an impressive 24 runs. He started the over with four consecutive boundaries and followed it up with a double on the fifth ball. Not content with that, he ended the over on a high note by hitting a massive six off the last ball.

Unfortunately, Tilak Varma’s aggressive innings came to an end on the last ball of the sixth over when Rashid Khan rattled his stumps. He contributed a quickfire 43 runs off just 14 balls, displaying a staggering strike rate of 307.14. His innings included 5 fours and 3 sixes, providing a much-needed boost to his team’s total.

WATCH – Rohit Sharma Was Frustrated As MI Missed 3 Chances To Dismiss Shubman Gill

The performance of Shubman Gill and the explosive cameo by Tilak Varma have set the stage for an exciting second innings as MI will now look to chase down the formidable target set by GT. Cricket fans eagerly await the thrilling conclusion of this high-stakes match in the IPL.

Here is the video of the over from Mohammed Shami:


Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Chris Jordan, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal