Twitter Reactions: Nidahas Trophy (Ind vs Ban) – India reached the final after beating Bangladesh
By Sandy - Mar 14, 2018 5:40 pm
Views 58

On Wednesday night, India secured their spot in the final of 2018 Nidahas Trophy after beating Bangladesh in the 5th T20I of the series at R.Premadasa Stadium (Colombo). While India scored 176/3 in the first batting, Bangladesh replied with only 159/6.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma was the hero of the match

Bangladesh decided to bowl first after winning the toss. Indian opening batsmen provided a very good start for the team.

After managing 49/0 at the end of the powerplay, openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan put 70-runs partnership for the opening wicket. After Dhawan was dismissed on 35 runs, Rohit carried on that innings with Suresh Raina.

Both of them put another 102-runs partnership for the second wicket. Coming back to the form, Rohit scored 89 runs before getting run-out in the very last ball of that innings. In that 89-runs knock (61 balls), Rohit hit 5 fours and 5 sixes.

Also read: Rohit Sharma hits back to form with a blistering knock

Meanwhile, Raina played a 47-runs knock who was also dismissed in the final over.

India managed to score 176/3 at the end of 20 overs.

Among the Bangladeshi bowlers, only Rubel Hossain (2/27) claimed the wicket.

In reply, Bangladesh failed to provide a good start as their wickets were falling in regular interval. Bangladesh managed to score 48/3 at the end of first 6 overs.

While opener Tamim Iqbal scored 27 runs, another opener Liton Das (7) and the no.3 batsman Soumya Sarkar (1) failed to reach the double-digit score.

In-form batsman Mushfiqur Rahim again showed his superb batting skill but could not manage a good partner who could support him for the successful chasing.

After skipper Mahmudullah (11) lost his wicket cheaply, Rahim put an important 65-runs partnership with Sabbir Rahman (27) for the fifth wicket but that was not enough for the team to reach the target in 20 overs.

While Rahim remained unbeaten on 72 runs off 55 balls with 8 fours and 1 six, Bangladesh finished on 159/6 (20 overs). As a result, India won the match by 17 runs.

Among the Indian bowlers, Washington Sundar (3/22) took three wickets while Mohammed Siraj (1/50), Shardul Thakur (1/37) and Yuzvendra Chahal (1/21) picked up one wicket each.

Also read: BCCI re-organise a fresh examination for level-1 refresher umpires

Rohit Sharma was awarded the Player of the Match for his superb knock.

With this victory, India reached in the final of the tournament by finishing on the top of the points table with 6 points. On Friday, Bangladesh (2 points) will take on Sri Lanka (2 points) where the winners will meet against India in the final of this tournament.

Now we will look at the Twitter reactions to this match

Praising Rohit Sharma

For Washington Sundar

India won the match and secured their spot for the final

Some more funny and interesting