News
Twitter slams Ash Gardner for costing Ellyse Perry’s wicket
By SMCS - Nov 18, 2022 5:00 pm
Views 44

Cricket is a team game and batting partners are supposed to help each other during their stay at the crease. However, Ash Gardner made headlines by failing to do that when she advised Ellyse Perry not to review LBW despite the ball sliding down the leg as well. However, the incident happened during the game between Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Ellyse Perry dismissal. (Image: Twitter)
Ellyse Perry’s dismissal. (Image: Twitter)

The sixers posted a decent total after 20 overs in the 51st match of the WBBL 2022. After being reduced 16/2, Ellyse Perry and Ash Gardner added a partnership of 59 runs and steadied the ship. Both the batters were timing the ball well, but Ellyse Perry got out courtesy of a judgmental error from Ash Gardner who was at the other end as well.

READ HERE: Wasim Jaffer names batting-order for 2nd Test vs New Zealand

Meanwhile, the incident happened in the 12th over of the innings when Belinda Vakarewa was bowling the first ball to Ellyse Perry. She bowled a full-length delivery going down the leg side which struck the batters’ pads. Vakarewa appealed immediately and the umpire raised his finger. However, Perry asked Gardner at the non-striker’s end if she should take DRS. Even, though both the batters were involved in a long discussion, later Perry walked back as Gardner suggested not to take. However, the ball tracking technology later showed that the delivery was going down the leg and the Sixers missed an opportunity to take a review that would have saved Ellyse Perry as well.

Twitter noticed that and criticized Ash Gardner for not giving the right advice. Here is how they reacted:

×