Twitter Reaction
Twitterati erupted As Umpire Calls For Run-out Of Jadeja After The Replay Was Shown
By CricShots - Dec 15, 2019 6:04 pm
Views 233
Share Post

Currently, the Indian team is locking horns with the West Indies at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The West Indies skipper, Kieron Pollard decided to bowl first after winning the toss. However, a lot of confusion happened in the 48th over as umpire called for a run-out after the replay was shown on TV which suggested that Ravindra Jadeja was out as the umpire had earlier declined the appel from the West Indies player.

umpire
Umpire calling for run-out

Meanwhile, India lost the lost their ever-reliable top-3 of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and KL Rahul before the 20-over mark. The Windies fast bowler, Sheldon Cottrell removed Rahul and Kohli for a single-digit score in the seventh over. While Rahul, who opened for Indian in place of an injured Shikhar Dhawan, departed for just six runs, Kohli was dismissed for four runs. 

WATCH – Dog Interrupted Play In Chennai Between India and West Indies

Rohit then stitched a fifty-run partnership with Shreyas Iyer before Alazrri Joseph had him caught at midwicket. Sharma departed for 36 as India stood for 80 for three in 18.1 overs. Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer then batted cautiously against Windies attack, adding 114 runs for the 4th wicket as the latter got out to Joseph in the  37th over after scoring 70 off 88 balls.

Pant also got out in the 40th over of Pollard after scoring 71 off just 69 balls. After his dismissal, Jadeja and Kedar Jadhav added 59 runs for the 6th wicket, as the latter was dismissed by Keemo Paul in the 48th over. However, the drama was created after the dismissal of Jadeja in the same over.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli impressed with the talent recommended by Kevin Pietersen

On the 4th ball of the over, Jadeja jammed the ball to send it to midwicket and ran for a quick single taken, he was earlier declared safe by the umpire despite the fielder running in and effecting a direct hit at the non-striker’s end. However, the TV replays showed Jadeja was out of the crease and soon after that on-field umpire called for the third umpire and eventually, Jadeja was ruled out.

Here is the video of the incident:

It was a bizarre sequence of events as the questions are raised that is it justified that third umpire can be called hat late in the proceedings. However, according to the current rules, Jadeja was out. Here is how Twitterati reacted to the same: