Umran Malik And Arshdeep Singh Receives Maiden India Call-up
By CricShots - May 22, 2022 5:57 pm
Views 90

After an enthralling action in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, the Indian fans will not shift focus to the international action as the men in blue are set to play two consecutive series at the same time after IPL comes to end on May 29. The big names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah will be taking the flight to England for the one Test remaining from the tour last year while KL Rahul has been named as the captain of the limited-overs leg at home against South Africa.

Umran Malik
Umran Malik took his maiden 5-fer in IPL

The impressive youngsters in the IPL 2022 have been rewarded with selections in the Indian squad for the South Africa series and it will be a great opportunity for them to prove their mettle on the international stage, ahead of the much-awaited T20 World Cup 2022. The combination of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, who were outstanding in the IPL 2022 this year, will be seen making a comeback. 

ALSO READ: Ajinkya Rahane To Miss Competitive Cricket For A Couple of Months

The fiery fast bowler, Umran Malik, who has been one of the finds of the 15th edition of the IPL, has been included in the Indian squad for the first time after his consistent performances for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Arshdeep Singh, who has been consistently doing well in the slog overs for the Punjab Kings (PBKS), has been provided with an opportunity and his left-arm angle could be an added luxury.

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh

In the batting department, Dinesh Karthik, who has been witnessing a purple patch for RCB, has returned to the Indian squad. Hardik’s bowling fitness will be one of the things to watch out for in the series. His excellent captaincy for Gujarat Titans (GT) has earned him the responsibility at the international stage and his all-rounder role will be crucial to the plans of India in the T20 World Cup 2022 squad.

ALSO READ: Rajasthan Royals Suffer A In-flight Turbulence En-route Kolkata

Indian squad for SA series:

KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.