Virat Kohli Commences 2020 With T20 World Record
By CricShots - Jan 8, 2020 11:24 am
Views 37
Share Post

The Indian skipper, Virat Kohli, and his men had a memorable last year and now it seems that they have carried the same form into the new year 2020. While the first T20I between India and Sri Lanka in Guwahati was washed-out due to rain, the second T20I witnessed another dominance of the men in blue as Kohli registered a world record.

Shreyas Iyer and Virat Kohli finished the game

In Indore, India outplayed the ISlanders the visiting Sri Lankans by seven wickets with Virat Kohli scoring a 17-ball 30* in the chase. The knock not only helped him become the leading run-scorers in T20Is surpassing his deputy Rohit Sharma and it also helped him become the fastest to reach 1,000 T20I runs as captain.

ALSO READ: Netizens Applauds As Team India Registers A Dominating Win In Indore

Virat now has 1,006 runs as captain in T20Is and overall, he tops the charts with 2,663 runs. He beat the record of South Africa’s Faf du Plessis, who had reached the landmark in 31 innings. The Indian skipper got there in 30 innings, thereby breaking yet another record in world cricket. After MS Dhoni, Kohli is the second Indian skipper to reach the 1,000-run mark as captain. Dhoni had taken 57 innings to reach the milestone.

Virat Kohli finished the game with a six

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson completed 1,000 T20I runs as captain in 36 innings while England captain Eoin Morgan took 42 innings to reach the landmark.

On Tuesday, the Indian team had another comfortable outing and completely outplayed the visitors to take an unassailable 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. For India, all the bowlers fired as Shardul Thakur scalped 3 wickets, Kuldeep Yadav and Navdeep Saini scalped a couple of wickets each while, Jasprit Bumrah and Washington Sundar scalped a wicket each.

WATCH – Kuldeep Yadav Takes The Revenge With Kusal Perera

Now, the third and final T20I will be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on January 10 (Friday).