Stats Shots
Virat Kohli Makes An Unwanted Record In Auckland
By CricShots - Feb 8, 2020 5:51 pm
Views 99
Share Post

There is no denying the fact in current scenarios each and every bowler in the world always looking to add the Indian skipper, Virat Kohli in their wickets column. During the second ODI between New Zealand and India at the Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday, fast bowler Tim Southee became the most successful bowler against Kohli. Southee dismissed the latter for the sixth time in ODIs and ninth across formats to add another record to his decorated international career.

Tim Southee dismissed Virat Kohli

Chasing 274 to win at the Eden Park, India lost Virat when Southee cleaned him up for an individual score of 15 in the 10th over. Apart from him, West Indies bowler Ravi Rampaul has also dismissed Virat six times in ODIs while Thisara Perera and Adam Zampa have claimed the India captain’s scalp five times each in the 50-over format.

England’s James Anderson and Graeme Swann have both dismissed Kohli eight times across formats. Morne Morkel, Nathan Lyon, Zampa and Rampaul have managed to add Virat in their wicket column seven times each across formats.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Feels ODI Aren’t Relevant For India This year

As far as the match is concerned, India suffered a 22-run loss against New Zealand at the Eden Park in Auckland ODI on Saturday. The men in blue have now conceded 2-0 lead to the hosts in the three-match ODI series. It will be their first bilateral series defeat against the Black Caps in 6 years in ODIs.

New Zealand bowlers ran through the Indian batsmen

After winning the toss, Kohli had asked the hosts to bat first and got off to a good start thanks to Martin Guptill’s half-century before India made a comeback by reducing the Kiwis from a commanding position of 142/1 to 197 for 8. Much like previous games, it was Ross Taylor once again, who saved New Zealand from further embarrassment. He alongside Kyle Jamieson added 76 runs for the 9th wicket. New Zeland finished their quota of 50 overs with the tally of 273/8.

New Zealand got off to a flyer with the ball with quick wickets of openers Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw, before Southee castled Kohli. KL Rahul and Kedar Jadhav also failed to prove their worth. Similar to the last ODI, Shreyas Iyer scored his seventh ODI half-century before being dismissed by Hamish Bennett.

ALSO READ: Twitterati Erupted As India Suffers First Series Loss After World Cup

Ravindra Jadeja also went on to score a half-century, putting on a couple of good partnerships with Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini but New Zealand eventually came out on top to win the series as India was bundled out for 251.

The final ODI is scheduled to take place for February 11 at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui.