Washington Sundar Replaces Deepak Chahar For The ODI Series
By CricShots - Oct 8, 2022 3:56 pm
Views 862

The young Indian all-rounder, Washington Sundar will be replacing the fast bowler, Deepak Chahar for the remaining two games of the ongoing three-match ODI series against South Africa. Chahar had stiffness in his back after the third and final T20I against South Africa in Indore and hence, he was excluded from India’s Playing XI in the first ODI in Lucknow.

Washington Sundar
Washington Sundar

According to the BCCI statement, Deepak Chahar will now head back to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) and will be monitored by the Medical Team there. The back injury would be specially monitored as he had injured the area during this year’s IPL and missed four months of cricket, unfortunately at a time when he was performing quite consistently. 

ALSO READ: John Campbell Receives 4-year Ban For Violating Anti-doping Rule

The late injury meant that Deepak Chahar did not travel with the India team to Perth, where they would play two warm-up games against Australia (Oct 17) and New Zealand (Oct 19).

Having already lost the premier pacer, Jasprit Bumrah, and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, two valuable assets, to injuries, they could ill afford to lose another fast bowler to an injury. And the injuries have coincided at the worst possible time for Chahar, as Bumrah’s replacement was to be named in two days, October 9 being the cut-off date to confirm the squad.

ALSO READ: Mohammad Rizwan Talks About His Competition With Suryakumar Yadav

After losing the opening game by 9 runs in Lucknow, India will play the second ODI in Ranchi on October 9 and will play the final ODI of the series in New Delhi on October 11. The India team will be led by Shikhar Dhawan.

India’s ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Washington Sundar.