Twitter Reaction
Watch: Glenn Phillips Saves Boundary By Kicking The Ball, Twitter Reacts
By Aditya Pratap - Nov 21, 2021 8:28 pm
Views 54

India and New Zealand are locking horns in the third T20I in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. India have already bagged the series by 2-0 and they are looking to complete a white-wash.

Glenn Phillips

Rohit Sharma won yet another toss and opted to bat first. Mitchell Santner is captaining New Zealand as Tim Southee is rested and is replaced by Adam Milne. India, on the other hand, rested KL Rahul and Ravichandran Ashwin while bringing Ishan Kishan and Yuzvendra Chahal in.

Also Read: The ball goes through Glenn Phillips legs and crashes into stumps, watch here

Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma walked out to open the innings and gave India a blazing start. Both openers were hitting boundaries for fun and punished every New Zealand bowler. They scored 69 runs inside the powerplay without losing any wicket.

An interesting incident occurred during the powerplay when Rohit Sharma flicked a ball that looked like a certain boundary. Glenn Phillips put a desperate dive to save the boundary but the ball ricocheted towards the boundary ropes. Phillips quickly got up and kicked the ball away to save one run.

Twitter erupted after watching this amazing fielding effort by Phillips. See what people said;

Stand-in captain Mitchell Santner came to bowl just after the powerplay and changed the course of the match. He dismissed Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar in one over before dismissing Rishabh Pant in his next over to reduce India from 69/0 to 83/3 in no time.

Also Read: Glenn Phillips goes six and out, Harshal Patel takes perfect revenge, watch here

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma was looking ominous after notching up yet another fifty. But Ish Sodhi plucked a stunning one-handed catch to cut short Rohit’s innings, where he scored 56 runs in 31 balls.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner(c), Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan, Venkatesh Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal.