On Sunday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) pointed out that the legendary Indian cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar was bowling a front foot no-ball during a net session at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. The cricket’s global governing body’s tweet came in response to Sachin Tendulkar’s post, in which he can be seen having a bowl at the nets.
Surprisingly, the ICC used a picture of former umpire Steve Bucknor along with a screengrab from Sachin Tendulkar’s Twitter video, which gave a clear depiction of the front foot no-ball. Apart from having a bowl, Sachin also had a bat at the net session which was set up for the Tendulkar Middlesex Global Academy. There is no denying to that fact that Sachin was given out most of the times by Bucknor and sometimes the decision had no justification.
Here is the what ICC posted:
— ICC (@ICC) May 12, 2019
Tendulkar and English County Cricket Club Middlesex joined hands to launch an academy to train the budding crickets, earlier in July 2018. The children aged between nine and 14 will be put through a comprehensive cricket curriculum at the “Tendulkar Middlesex Global Academy” (TMGA).
Announcing the same, a joint statement read: “The academy will provide young girls and boys between the age of 9 and 14 an opportunity to learn from two of the most respected and renowned institutions in world cricket – Sachin Tendulkar and Middlesex Cricket.”
It further added, “The comprehensive training curriculum developed by the professional coaches at Middlesex and the Master himself will help young and budding cricketers with various aspects of cricket, including insights into athletic development, sport psychology, tactical development, and technical modifications. With talent identification at the core of the academy, TMGA will also provide opportunities for talented underprivileged children with 100 scholarships available.”
Tendulkar, who has often been regarded as one of the most complete batsmen the world has ever seen, said the ambition for the academy was two-fold.