West Indies Also Announces ODI Squad For The Upcoming India Tour
By CricShots - Jan 27, 2022 11:05 am
Views 69

West Indies have announced the ODI squad for the upcoming tour to India and they have recalled Kemar Roach, Nkrumah Bonner, and Brandon King for the three-match series against India, starting on February 6. Roach from Barbados has been a regular in West Indies Test squads but played his last ODI against India at Port of Spain in August 2019.

Kemar Roach
Kemar Roach

In a statement regarding th same, newly appointed chief selector, Desmond Haynes said, “Kemar Roach is one of our leading fast bowlers and we believe we need bowlers upfront to get an early wicket…Kemar, with an economy rate of five, is certainly good enough to play.”

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma And Kuldeep Yadav Have Comeback In India’s ODI Squad

He further elaborated, “We want to have competition for places. We want to reach a stage where we have a lot of players fighting for positions. We want to broaden the pool of players we have to choose from. The team we have selected is a very good side and we are looking at this tour as part of the preparations for the World Cup in India in 2023.”

west indies
West Indies players 

Beginning on Feb. 6, West Indies will play three ODIs at the Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad and the ODI series will be followed by as many T20Is and all the games will be played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. West Indies will announce the T20I squad on Friday.

ALSO READ: ICC Suspends Netherlands’ Bowler Vivian Kingma For Ball-tampering

India has already announced their T20I and ODI squad with some stalwarts like Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav making a comeback and at the same time, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested from both the series. Ravi Bishnoi has received his maiden call-up in the national squad.

West Indies ODI Squad for the India tour: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.