WPL 2024 Controversy: Athapaththu’s DRS Decision Sparks Heated Debate
By CricShots - Mar 5, 2024 12:22 pm
Views 16

In the 11th game of the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024), Royal Challengers Bangalore women clashed with UP Warriorz women at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on March 4. Amidst Bangalore’s impressive form, a controversial moment arose in the second innings.

WPL 2024
WPL 2024 faced a DRS controversy

Renowned Sri Lankan cricketer Chamari Athapaththu found herself at the center of attention due to one of the most contentious decisions of the tournament. During the seventh over of the second innings, Athapaththu faced a strong appeal after being struck on the pads. Initially, the umpire dismissed the appeal, but a review by Bangalore revealed a surprising turn of events.

WATCH – Ellyse Perry’s Explosive Six Shatters Car Glass In WPL 2024 Thriller

The Decision Review System (DRS) indicated a deviation from the expected trajectory. Instead of the delivery turning left and potentially missing the leg stump, it veered the opposite direction, akin to a googly, resulting in Athapaththu’s dismissal.

The footage of this incident quickly spread across social media platforms, prompting disbelief from Athapaththu and sparking a heated exchange between UP Warriorz skipper Alyssa Healy and the match officials, while Bangalore players celebrated the crucial breakthrough.

Royal Challengers Bangalore women have notably elevated their performance compared to the inaugural WPL season. Under the leadership of Smriti Mandhana, the team has won three out of five matches, currently holding the third position in the standings.

ALSO READ: Dinesh Karthik Defends Tamil Nadu Captain Amidst Ranji Trophy Semi-final Criticism

In their encounter against UP Warriorz, Bangalore set a formidable target of 198 runs in the first innings, courtesy of Mandhana’s 80-run knock and Ellyse Perry’s contribution of 58 runs. However, despite efforts from Warriorz, including wickets taken by Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, and Sophie Ecclestone, their chase fell short at 175 runs, with Healy top-scoring at 55, resulting in Bangalore’s victory by 23 runs.