IPL 2024
Wriddhiman Saha’s Fumble Gives Rishabh Pant a Lifeline
By CricShots - Apr 24, 2024 9:27 pm
Views 17

In a crucial moment of the ongoing IPL 2024 showdown between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Gujarat Titans (GT), skipper Rishabh Pant narrowly escaped a dismissal thanks to a rare fumble by seasoned wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha. The incident unfolded during the eleventh over of DC’s innings, with Pant at the crease alongside Axar Patel.

Wriddhiman Saha
Wriddhiman Saha gave Rishabh Pant a lifeline

As GT’s captain Shubman Gill introduced spinner Noor Ahmad into the attack, the Afghan bowler created an opportunity by inducing an inside edge off Pant’s bat with a full-length delivery. With Rishabh Pant slightly out of his crease, Saha had a clear chance to effect a stumping.

WATCH – Rashid Khan’s Spectacular Catch Dismisses Shai Hope

However, in an unexpected turn of events, Wriddhiman Saha, known for his impeccable glovework, failed to gather the ball cleanly, allowing Pant to scramble back to safety just in time. Seizing the moment, Rishabh Pant responded with a powerful six off Noor, adding insult to injury for GT.


Meanwhile, Axar Patel, promoted up the order to number three, spearheaded DC’s recovery after Sandeep Warrier’s early bowling blitz left them reeling at three wickets down. At the time of writing, DC finished their innings with Rishabh Pant (88*) and Patel (66) scoring fifties to help their team to reach a score of 224/4.

This turn of events adds another layer of excitement to the fiercely contested encounter between the two IPL giants. As the match unfolds, the fortunes of both teams hang in the balance, promising more thrilling moments and nail-biting action for cricket fans everywhere.

WATCH – Stellar Catch By Noor Ahmad Dismisses Prithvi Shaw

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar

Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill (c), David Miller, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahul Tewatia, Shahrukh Khan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Warrier