Zaheer Khan Leaves Kuldeep Yadav And Shikhar Dhawan Out From T20 WC Squad
By CricShots - Jul 31, 2021 11:27 am
Views 488

Former Indian fast bowler, Zaheer Khan named his version of Team India’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup scheduled to be played later this year in the UAE. He named a star-studded 15-member squad and didn’t include Shikhar Dhawan, who recently led the Men in Blue in the three-match T20I series in Sri Lanka, which India lost 1-2. Zaheer picked Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul as the two openers followed by Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav in the middle order. 

shikhar dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan led India during the Sri Lanka tour

During a chat on Cricbuzz, Zaheer Khan said, “I will open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Virat and Surya will follow them. I know Virat has made the statement that he wants to open the innings. But I would still say that Virat only opens in case Hardik is not available to bowl. In that scenario, you can sacrifice one batsman and get an extra bowler.”

ALSO READ: Ben Stokes Takes Indefinite Break From Cricket, Withdraws From India Tests

Among the wrist-spinners, Zaheer Khan decided to go with the leg-spin duo of Rahul Chahar and Yuzvendra Chahal. However, he didn’t pick left-armer Kuldeep Yadav, and even Bhuvneshwar Kumar isn’t a certainty in Zaheer’s lineup either. Zaheer was also spoilt for choices between Varun Chakravarthy and Washington Sundar. 

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan

Describing the same, Zaheer Khan said, “I have Chahal as the lead leg spinner and also went in with Rahul Chahar as his backup. In this format, we have seen that leg spinner is such a crucial factor. Chakravarthy/Sundar will be the spinners who would be bowling with the new ball. If you want that mystery element, you can choose Chakravarthy, but otherwise, you can go in with Sundar as well.”

ALSO READ: Anushka Sharma Posts Heartwarming Comment On Hardik Pandya’s Post

Zaheer’s squad: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Chahar, T Natarajan/Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar/Varun Chakravarthy