BCCI Announces Women’s Squad For The ODI Series Against Australia
By CricShots - Feb 27, 2018 9:34 am
Views 0

The Indian women’s cricket team is scheduled to lock horns with the Australian women’s team for a three ODIs at home, starting 12 March. The All-India Women’s Selection Committee named the India Women’s squad for the ODI series on Tuesday. The three-match series against Australia that will be held in Vadodara, is part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-2020).

India – Australia women’s team will lock horns in March 2018

Indian skipper Mithali Raj will once again be seen leading the women in blue, while Harman Preet Kaur will her deputy for the ODI series. Veteran fast bowler Jhulan Goswami, who is the highest wicket-taker in women’s ODIs won’t be a part of the team as she sustained an injury during the South African tour. 

Also read: CoA Keen To Discuss The Women’s Exhibition IPL

The Indian cricket team has been performing consistently well in recent times as they recently created history by winning the ODI and T20I series’ against South Africa in their home.

Complete schedule for the ODI series against Australia                                                                      source: BCCI

After Mithali Raj and her women won the ODI series 2-1, it was Harmanpreet Kaur’s turn to lift the T20I trophy as they become the first cricket team to win two formats in the Rainbow nation.

SA tour a confidence booster for India ahead of Australia series

Also read: BCCI To Do A Dry Run For Women’s IPL In India

Those victories demonstrated the temperament of the Indian women’s team as they carried their momentum which they got with the performances in the ICC ODI World Cup. It also proved that the World Cup wasn’t a mere flash in the pan and the women showed little rustiness even though they played their first series in seven months. In the entire South Africa tour, the biggest positive was winning a T20I series as in the shortest format, the record of the Indian women’s team wasn’t up to the mark.

India squad: Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Sukanya Parida, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma