On This Day
Chennai Super Kings Lift 2nd Consecutive Title, On This Day
By CricShotsStaff - May 28, 2020 1:42 pm
Views 202

On this day 9 years ago Chennai Super Kings won their second successive IPL trophy. A record second title wins within just four editions of India’s Premier cash-rich T-20 extravaganza.

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings

Winning the trophy in 2010, MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings started the tournament as favorites. The Chennai based franchise was playing in the big finale for the third time. They lost to Rajasthan Royals in finals of the first season of IPL and featured in their second finals when they won against Mumbai Indians last year.

ALSO READ: Ian Botham feels he Would’ve Loved to Play Against Virat Kohli

On the other hand CSK’s opponents, RCB also featured in the final for the second time in their IPL history. The Bangalore based franchise playing the most important IPL match in 2009 when they lost to Deccan Chargers in the final.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore topped the group stage table with 19 points to their name. Captained by Daniel Vettori the RCB played superb cricket in all the 14 league matches outscoring finalist oppositions CSK  by just a point during the league stages. The MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings finished the league stage ranking second just one point less than RCB.

Playing at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat.

CSK openers Michael Hussey and Murli Vijay wreaked havoc on the RCB bowling lineup from the word go. the opening duo stitched up a solid 159-run opening stand for the Chennai based franchise.  Hussey played his part in providing a solid launchpad for the CSK middle order to follow on with his 45 balls 63.

CSK captain MS Dhoni promoted himself up the order and joined Murli Vijay at the crease, The former Indian captain helped himself to a quickfire 13 ball 22.  Murali Vijay stole all the limelight as he notched up a superb 95 to help CS post a dominating 205 runs at the end of their 20 overs.

ALSO READ: Parthiv Patel Makes Compelling Argument for Indian Team Keepers

Chasing a daunting target of 206,  Mayank Agarwal, and West Indies hard hitter Chris Gayle walked out to open RCB’s innings.

Ashwin haunted a huge blow to RCB’s desire as the dismissed Chis Gayle for a duck on the fourth balls on the RCB innings. Gayle’s fellow opening partner Agarwal also joined him soon back in the hut scoring just 10 runs off 5 balls.

Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers tried to salvage the RCB innings but all their efforts went in vain. Saurabh Tiwary top scorer for the RCB whose innings ended at a mere 147.

Chennai Super Kings spinner Ravichandran Ashwin outshined in the bowlers’ department taking three wickets for 16 runs. Opener Murali Vijay was awarded the man of the match for his brilliant 95 as  Chennai Super Kings  comfortably won the final by  a huge margin of 58 runs