Devon Conway Pulls Off A Brilliant Effort To Stop A Boundary
By CricShots - Oct 8, 2022 4:46 pm
Views 1.9K

The second match of the three-match series between New Zealand and England was played at Hagley Oval. During this match, Kiwi wicketkeeper Devon Conway pulled off an amazing fielding effort near the boundary line. Actually, Devon Conway ran about 50 meters behind the wicket to prevent the ball from going outside the boundary. The video of this incident is spreading on social media like wildfire. 

Devon Conway
Devon Conway saves a boundary

This incident took place in the 12th over of Pakistan’s innings. The pair of Shabad Khan and Babar Azam was batting in the middle, while Tim Southee came to bowl for New Zealand. Shadab played a scoop shot on the fourth ball of the over. Looking at the shot from Shadab’s bat, it seemed that the batsman was sure to get the full four runs, but Devon Conway had a different plan.

ALSO READ: Washington Sundar Replaces Deepak Chahar For The ODI Series

The Kiwi wicketkeeper showed amazing commitment and ran for almost 50 meters to stop the ball before going for the boundary. During this incident, Conway put up an amazing dive to prevent the ball from touching the boundary rope with his feet. Seeing this amazing effort, all the spectators present on the field were completely surprised. Commentators also praised Conway for his brilliant effort.

Here is the video of the effort from Devon Conway:

Earlier in the match, New Zealand decided to bat first after winning the toss, after which the team scored 147 runs on the basis of the innings of Devon Conway (36), Mark Chapman (32), and skipper Kane Williamson (31). To win this match, Pakistan had to chase a target of 148 runs. On the basis of Babar Azam’s innings of 79 runs, Pakistan managed to chase down the score in 18.2 overs.

ALSO READ: John Campbell Receives 4-year Ban For Violating Anti-doping Rule

New Zealand (Playing XI): Devon Conway (wk), Finn Allen, Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Blair Tickner

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Shan Masood, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf, Shahnawaz Dahani