IPL 2023
Dismissal Of Tim David Ignite A No Ball Controversy Among Fans
By CricShots - May 24, 2023 11:23 pm
Views 75

In their clash against Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians got off to a blazing start, reaching a score of 98/2 in the first 10 overs, laying a solid foundation for their power-hitting finishers. However, a couple of wickets in the 11th over brought Tim David to the crease earlier than expected. The Australian batsman had the opportunity to play substantial innings, but an umpiring decision in the 17th over prevented him from doing so, stirring controversy.

Tim David
Tim David

On the third ball of the 17th over bowled by Yash Thakur, a high full toss cross-seam delivery prompted David to go for a slog. Unfortunately, he failed to connect cleanly, and Deepak Hooda, stationed at long-on, completed the catch to dismiss the key wicket. However, David remained at the crease, assuming the ball was above waist height and thus should have been called a no-ball.

To the surprise of David and the Mumbai Indians camp, the third umpire Chris Gaffaney disagreed. The hawk-eye replay showed that the ball was marginally below David’s waist, leading Gaffaney to advise the on-field umpires Bruce Oxenford and Virender Sharma not to overturn the decision.

WATCH – Deepak Hooda Takes A Diving Catch To Send Back Tilak Verma

David, who had scored 13 runs off 13 balls, expressed his dissatisfaction with the decision and engaged in a brief discussion with Oxenford before making his way back to the pavilion. Following the dismissal, further controversy arose when side-angle photos suggested that the hawk-eye recreation may not have been entirely accurate, adding fuel to the debate surrounding the decision.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Tim David:

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Krunal Pandya (c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Mohsin Khan

WATCH – Naveen Ul Haq Churns Out Crowd Shutting Celebration After Dismissing Rohit Sharma

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal

While some of the netizens advocated for the technology, others thought the decision was justified.