Evin Lewis Withdraws From The ODI Series Against India
By CricShots - Oct 17, 2018 5:39 pm
Views 64

The flamboyant West Indies opener Evin Lewis has withdrawn himself from the squad to face India in the upcoming limited-overs series and he will be replaced by Kieran Powell in the team, while Nicholas Pooran will replace the southpaw in the T20I squad, Cricket West Indies confirmed on Wednesday.

Evin Lewis

Lewis stated that he has taken the decision due to his personal reasons for his withdrawal but he had also recently rejected a contract from Cricket West Indies. Lewis’s absence will further weaken the team which will already miss the services of big names like Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, and Kieron Pollard among others.

Along with Powell, fast bowler Obed McCoy will join the squad as well with the team currently monitoring Alzari Joseph’s full fitness.

ALSO READ: Evin Lewis rejects the 2018/19 central contracts

Even in the Indian squad, Indian pacer Umesh Yadav has replaced Shardul Thakur in the first two ODIs of the five-match home ODI series against Windies. Shardul Thakur suffered a groin injury on the opening day of his debutant Test match, which was the recent second and final Test of the series against Windies at Hyderabad. He delivered only 10 balls before getting hurt in that injury and returned to the dressing room.

Shardul Thakur

The ODI series will start on Sunday i.e., 21st October and the T20I series will begin from 4th November.

ODI squad: Jason Holder (C), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas

T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (C), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas