Gunaratne and Madushanka ruled out from 2018 Nidahas Trophy
By Sandy - Feb 23, 2018 5:29 am
Views 0

Before the beginning of 2018 Nidahas Trophy, the hosts Sri Lanka has suffered two major blows after the all-rounder Asela Gunaratne and young fast bowler Shehan Madushanka ruled out from the upcoming T20I tri-series. Both are suffering several injuries that forced them to miss the entire series.

Asela Gunaratne

32-year old batting all-rounder Asela Gunaratne is suffering an injury on his right-shoulder that arose during the fielding drills.

Meanwhile, 22-years old right-arm pacer Shehan Madushanka has an injury on his left hamstring during the last T20I match against Bangladesh at Sylhet.

Also read: Mithali Raj wants to achieve success in T20 cricket

Graeme Labrooy, the Chairman of Selectors in Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), confirmed the news that both are highly likely to be missed in the upcoming Nidahas Trophy.

Madushanka made his international debut in the final match of the recently ended ODI tri-series on the Bangladesh soil. In his debutant ODI match, he claimed a hat-trick against the other finalist and hosts Bangladesh. Sri Lanka won that final by 79 runs and also clinched the tri-nation trophy.


Shehan Madushanka

Later, Madushanka made his T20I debut in the recently ended two-match T20I series against the hosts Bangladesh. After finishing wicket-less in his first T20I, he claimed two wickets in the second encounter before suffering a hamstring injury.

Also read: Yorkshire signed Billy Stanlake for T20 Blast

On the other hand, Gunaratne had featured in the ODI tri-series on the Bangladesh soil. He was also selected for the recently ended two-match T20I series against the hosts Bangladesh and travelled also, but got an injury during the practice which forced him to miss out that series.

Sri Lanka will host the 2018 Nidahas Trophy which is going to begin on 6th March and will run till the 18th March. It will be a T20I tri-series where India and Bangladesh will take part along with the hosts.

The tournament is organizing to celebrate Sri Lanka’s 70th year of independence. Each team will play two matches against every other team. After the end of the round-robin format, the top two teams of the final points table will compete for the final match which will be played on 18th March.

All the matches will be played in the night at R. Premadasa Stadium (Colombo).