Videos
WATCH: Hardik Pandya Gets Confused With The No Ball
By CricShots - Sep 21, 2017 1:13 pm
Views 37
Hardik
Hardik Pandya

The stage was set for a batsman of Hardik Pandya’s caliber as Team India had a decent total on the board. Men in blue were having 233 runs on the board with Hardik in the middle had a great chance of getting somewhere close to 265 runs in the last 3 overs.

On the 4th ball of the 48th over, which was a full toss, Pandya went for the big shot but couldn’t able to connect and Steve Smith at covers took the catch. But Smith had a doubt that Kane Williamson had bowled a waist height no-ball and thrown the bowl and tried for a runout. Pandya didn’t even attempt to take a run and was just walking off as the rain showers had also been started. Replays suggested that the ball was above the waist of the batsman and thus it was not a genuine delivery.

The Australians claimed for a run out if it was a no ball but the umpire Anil Choudhary rather ruled it not out. During the interruption, the Aussies were clearing it out with the umpires what was the basis for their decision.

According to the ICC’s  says, “Law 27.7 if a batsman leaves his wicket under a misapprehension an umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire will take the final call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman.”

The next ball after the resumption of the game was given a free hit which was faced by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the non-striker on the previous delivery who played it. However, Hardik didn’t have a great knock after that as he only managed 20 off 26 balls and couldn’t quite give the team the kind of finish they would’ve expected. Indian team was bundled out for 252.

Here is the video of the incident:

https://twitter.com/prashant1347/status/910838620952469505

×