India-Australia Series Will Not Follow New ICC Rules
By CricShots - Sep 6, 2017 1:56 pm
Views 61
Ind-Aus series will not follow new ICC rules

Australia will be touring to India between September 17 to October 13 and the reports suggest that the matches will be played according to existing laws of cricket despite new ICC rules coming into effect on September 28.

Virat Kohli and co. will get to play with the modified rule only when New Zealand tour India in mid-October. The new set of rules are mostly in regard to the code of conduct, DRS usage, and size of the equipment was supposed to be implemented from October 1 but with the twin Test series starting on September 28, it has been decided that it will come to effect from that very date.

While the India vs Australia series will consist of 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is, the ICC has decided that it would only be reasonable that this series is played under the old rules to avoid confusion.

As per the reports of PTI, one of BCCI officials said, “Yes, the rules will come into effect when the double header Tests (Sri Lanka vs Pakistan and Bangladesh vs South Africa starts) start on September 28. The Australia vs India and England vs West Indies limited overs series both start on September 17. While both the series will continue into October but you don’t want any confusion with regards to a different set of rules followed in the same series. Hence, this decision by the ICC.”

A notable rule change that will come into effect is that teams will no longer lose a review under DRS if a leg- before referral returns as ‘Umpires’ Call’. There is another change in the DRS rule that as per the current rule teams get the top-up of reviews after 80 overs and now that will not be done as per the new rules.

The BCCI official also said, “The New Zealand series that starts from the third week of October will be India’s first under a new set of rules.”