IPL 2020
IPL 2020 Captain Analysis: Kohli and Rohit
By CricShotsStaff - Mar 14, 2020 4:24 pm
Views 48
Share Post

We have a look at the IPL history and records in this tale of the 2 captains. we discuss the captain of the most successful IPL side and vice-captain of the Indian cricket team Rohit Sharma along with the Indian team’s captain and RCB faithful Virat Kohli.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma moved back to his home city based Mumbai Indians team in 2011 for $ 2 million in 2011. He plied his trade for the Hyderabad based Deccan Chargers franchise before the shift. He scored his only century of the IPL against KKR in 2012. Handed the captaincy of the Mumbai franchise in 2013, Rohit Sharma executed his plans to perfection and led the team to its maiden IPL title n 2013. Rohit Sarma made it a double and clenched the now scraped Champions League T20 competition in 2013 also.

Rohit Sharma has had many wonderful seasons with the bat in IPL too. He currently sits as the third-highest run-scorer in IPL history behind Indian middle-order batsman Suresh Raina and current national team captain Virat Kohli.   Rohit is one of the top 10 players who have scored 4,000 runs in IPL. Sharma with 4,898 runs to his name is just 112 runs away from crossing the 5000 runs in IPL.

ALSO READ: A day to remember India’s Very Very Special Wall

Under Rohit’s leadership, the Mumbai Indians have the IPL in 2015, 2017 and 2019 making them one of the most successful teams of the IPL. With Rohit’s excellent captaincy record in the shortest version of the game, many fans want the Mumbai lad to replace Virt as India’s T 20 captain.

Virat Kohli

In March 2008, Kohli was singed on a youth contract by Royal Challengers Bangalore. He had a poor inaugural season scoring just 165 runs in 12 innings  Virat’s batting grew steadily as he amassed  246 runs in his second IPL season.  Later on, Kohli finished as the third-highest run-getter for his team during the 2010 season.

Handed the vice-captaincy in 2011, Kohli also captained the RCB team for a few matches when RCB regular captain Daniel Vettori was injured. Kohli scored 557 runs ending the season as the second-highest scorer behind teammate Chris Gayle. Virat had very average seasons between 2012-2016. The only highlight from those seasons was his permanent captaincy being announced during the 2013 season.

ALSO READ: IPL Governing Council Ready To Organise A Curtailed Tournament?

Kohli set the 2016 season ablaze breaking record for most runs in an IPL season.  Royal Challengers finished runners-up as Kohli scored 973 runs in 16 matches. The RCB skipper hit four centuries, won the orange cap and became the first player to score 4000 runs in IPL.

Kohli missed the start of the 2017 season due to a shoulder injury and RCB finished the last.  Virat was retained by RCB during the 2018 season, for a price of ₹170 million (US$2.4 million), the highest for any player that year. During the IPL 2019 season, he became the second player to reach 5000 IPL runs behind CSK’s Suresh Raina.

Virat will be ready to break off the curse and prove his leadership skills at the star-studded mega cricketing event. Winning the IPL will surely shut up Virat’s critics who hate the Delhi southpaw for his captaincy decisions.