IPL 2020: List Of Prize Money Won By All the Award Winners
By CricShots - Nov 11, 2020 9:21 pm
Views 166

The final showdown of the much-awaited 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 took place at the iconic Dubai International Stadium with the defending champions, Mumbai Indians (MI) locking horns with the cup-deprived Delhi Capitals (DC). MI became the second franchise in the history of the IPL to defend the title. In the IPL 2020 final, they registered a dominating win over the Delhi Capitals (DC) to lift the IPL trophy for the record fifth time. 

ipl 2020
Mumbai Indians pacer, Trent Boult dismissed Marcus Stoinis on the first ball of IPL 2020 final

Earlier, Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first, but Boulthurt them with the new ball. He nipped out Marcus Stoinis on the first ball of the match. He continued to let the ball do the talking as he dismissed Ajinkya Rahane as well and then Jayant Yadav castled Shikhar Dhawan to leave DC reeling at 22/3 in the 4th over. This is when Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant decided to counter-attack on the opposition bowlers. The latter found his groove at the crucial time for his team.

WATCH –  Trent Boult Delivers A Peach On The first Ball Of The Final

Iyer and Pant added as many as 96 runs for the fourth wicket and laid the perfect foundation for the Capitals to go big in the last five overs. However, Nathan Coulter-Nile who broke the partnership, but Iyer slammed a half-century at the other end. However, MI’s exceptional death bowling came to the fore on the day. While Bumrah was once again unplayable at the death, Boult got teh prized wicket of Shimron Hetmyer. Eventually, DC only managed to reach a total of 156 runs in their 20 overs. 

rohit sharma
Rohit Sharma scored a fifty

The 156-run chase could’ve been tricky for the defending champions. But their openers Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock were determined came out all guns blazing to smash the DC bowler all-over the park. They added as many as 45 runs in the first four overs as well. De Kock was the first one to go with Marcus Stoinis striking off the first ball of his spell.

But Rohit didn’t lose his focus and even Suryakumar Yadav came out and slammed a four and a six to get going. The duo kept the Mumbai Indians ahead in the chase to add 46 runs, but it ended with a horrible mix-up to end the partnership. Rohit made sure though that he stayed in the middle to take his team home as he completed a half-century clicking at the perfect time for the team.

ALSO READ: Kieron Pollard Considers IPL final Only Second To World Cup final

However, the MI skipper couldn’t remain unbeaten and got out after scoring 68 off 51 balls. Despite losing two more wickets in the end, the MI were on their way to lift the trophy for the fifth time. Ishan Kishan once again stood like a rock to take the team home in the 19th over of the innings. MI was absolutely dominating in the final and their experience in the crunch game worked for them while the Capitals should be proud of their effort and will hope to come back strong in 2021.

Here’s the prize money won by the award winners of the tournament

  • Fairplay Award: Mumbai Indians
  • Emerging player of the season: Devdutt Padikkal – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Game-changer of the season: KL Rahul – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Super Striker of the season: Kieron Pollard (191.42) – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Most sixes award: Ishan Kishan (30) – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Power player of the season: Trent Boult – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Purple Cap: Kagiso Rabada (30 wickets) – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Orange Cap: KL Rahul (670 runs) – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Most Valuable Player: Jofra Archer – ₹ 10 Lakhs
  • Champions: Mumbai Indians ₹20 crores
  • Runner-up: Delhi Capitals – ₹12.5 crores
  • Losing Qualifier: Sunrisers Hyderabad – ₹8.75 crores
  • Losing Qualifier: Royal Challengers Bangalore – ₹8.75 crores