IPL 2021
IPL 2021 Final: CSK Bags Fourth IPL Title As KKR Collapsed, Twitter Reacts
By Aditya Pratap - Oct 15, 2021 11:40 pm
Views 31.9K

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders are locking horns in the final of the Indian Premier League 2021 in Dubai. CSK are playing in their ninth final and have a fourth title in sight. On the other hand, this is KKRโ€™s third IPL final and they are eyeing a third IPL title.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Eoin Morgan won the toss and kept the trend going as he decided to bowl first. Both teams fielded an unchanged playing XI for the summit clash.

Also Read: Faf du Plessis fifty helps CSK to big total in IPL final, Twitter reacts

Earlier, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis took CSK off to a good start. Gaikwad needed to score 24 runs to claim the orange cap and he did it inside the powerplay. The duo notched up the 50-run partnership in the powerplay as CSK scored 50/0 in six overs. Gaikwad got out after scoring 32 runs and Robin Uthappa walked out to bat at 3.

He started cutting loose as soon as he came out. Uthappa smashed three sixes in his innings of 31 runs before getting out to Sunil Narine. Meanwhile, Du Plessis scored yet another fifty in the IPL 2021. He found a good partner in Moeen Ali. Both batsmen tore the KKR bowling lineup apart and scored 68 runs in less than 7 overs.

Du Plessis was close to leapfrogging Gaikwad in the orange capโ€™s list but he got out on the last ball when he needed 2 runs to tie with his opening partner at 635 runs. Du Plessis scored 86 runs in 59 balls where he hit seven fours and three sixes. Moeen Ali remained not out on 37 in 20 balls, which featured two fours and three sixes.

In response, Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer gave KKR a good start. MS Dhoni dropped a straightforward catch of Iyer when he was on 0. Both openers played beautifully inside the powerplay and hit regular boundaries as KKR scored 55 runs for no wicket in the first six overs.

Also Read: MS Dhoni drops Venkatesh Iyer who punishes CSK with a six, watch here

Venkatesh Iyer scored yet another fifty and added 91 runs for the opening wicket with Gill. However, a flurry of wickets followed afterwards as KKR went from 91/0 to 108/4. Gill scored another fifty before another collapse for KKR as they got from 119/4 to 125/8.

Shivam Mavi and Lockie Ferguson hit a few lusty shots towards the death overs but they were of no use as the asking rate got high. CSK won the final by 27 runs and bagged their fourth IPL title.

See how Twitter reacted to the final;