IPL 2021
IPL 2021: Watch: KKR Misses Faf du Plessis’ Stumping, Ruturaj Gaikwad Made Them Pay
By Aditya Pratap - Oct 15, 2021 8:25 pm
Views 61

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders are locking horns in the final of the Indian Premier League 2021 in Dubai. CSK are playing in their ninth final and have a fourth title in sight. On the other hand, this is KKR’s third IPL final and they are eyeing a third IPL title.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Eoin Morgan won the toss and kept the trend going as he decided to bowl first. Both teams fielded an unchanged playing XI for the summit clash.

Also Read: Ruturaj Gaikwad gives R Ashwin a taste of his own medicine, watch here

CSK opener Faf du Plessis got an early lifeline as Dinesh Karthik missed a stumping on Shakib Al Hasan’s bowling in the third over of the match. Du Plessis went for a whip but missed the arm ball, so did Karthik as both openers ran for a bye.

Ruturaj Gaikwad punished KKR for this costly mistake. He hit the next two balls for a four and a six on the next two balls. Shakib was the unlucky bowler and he ended up leaking 13 runs in that over.

Gaikwad and Du Plessis, then, took CSK off to a good start. Gaikwad needed to score 24 runs to claim the orange cap and he did it inside the powerplay. The duo notched up the 50-run partnership in the powerplay as CSK scored 50/0 in six overs.

Also Read: Faf du Plessis takes an outstanding catch at the boundary to dismiss Eoin Morgan, watch here

Watch the video here;

Gaikwad got out after scoring 32 runs in 27 balls. Sunil Narine was the man with the wicket.

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik(w), Eoin Morgan(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakaravarthy.