Twitter Reaction
Maheesh Theekshana Subjugates Hardik Pandya With A Fiery Yorker
By CricShots - Jan 3, 2023 10:13 pm
Views 57

Team India is currently hosting Sri Lanka in the opening game of the three-match T20I series at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The Sri Lankan spinner, Maheesh Theekshana is one the best spinners in world cricket and he has often been seen troubling the opposition batters with his variations. However, Maheesh Theekshana decided to use pace as his weapon by bowling a toe-crushing yorker to India’s stand-in skipper, Hardik Pandya just like Pakistan’s great Waqar Younis. 

Maheesh Theekshana
Maheesh Theekshana bowled brilliantly

 Sri Lanka was impressive with the ball as they restricted the opposition to 101/5 from 15 overs at the venue which is known for being a batting-friendly surface. Maheesh Theekshana was impressive with his bowling conceding just 29 runs and taking a solitary wicket. The spinner is known for his variations but he surprised everyone in the game by using pace as his weapon to knock down Hardik Pandya.

WATCH – Adam Zampa Makes An Unsuccessful Attempt To Run-out The Batter At Non-striker’s End

Theekshana was bowling the 13th over of the innings and Hardik was looking to switch gears. However, the bowler was aware of the intention of the batter and he came up with a brilliant plan. Theekshana fired the penultimate ball of the over at a rapid pace in the blockhole. The ball swung late and Hardik was seen having trouble while digging it out.

The sensational delivery from Maheesh Theekshana reminded fans of the Pakistan great Waqar Younis and even commentators emphasized it. Here is the video of the incident: 

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal

WATCH – Sanju Samson Gets Criticized For Wasting An Opportunity In T20Is

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

Spectators praised the bowler for his delivery and flooded social media with their reactions.