PM Narendra Modi Consoles Indian Cricketers After World Cup Final Loss
By CricShots - Nov 21, 2023 12:57 pm
Views 25

Prime Minister Narendra Modi visited the Indian cricket team in their dressing room after they suffered a heartbreaking defeat in the ICC Cricket World Cup final on Sunday. Modi met with India captain Rohit Sharma, batting superstar Virat Kohli, and other players, including head coach Rahul Dravid, as he consoled them.

PM Narendra Modi
PM Narendra Modi consoled Virat Kohli And Rohit Sharma

With the India players wearing a dejected look, Modi shook their hands, pointed out how they won 10 matches in a row, and even joked with Jasprit Bumrah, asking if he knows Gujarati.

ALSO READ: Venkatesh Iyer Gets Engaged, Shares Pictures On Instagram

“You guys have won 10 matches. It happens,” PM Narendra Modi told Rohit and Kohli. He hugged the competition’s highest wicket-taker Mohammed Shami. “Shami, you did very well this time,” Modi said. He then addressed them briefly, motivating them and inviting the players to meet him in Delhi whenever they’re free.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Narendra Modi (@narendramodi)

Playing in the final of an ODI World Cup for the fourth time in their history, India was the favorite considering their remarkable run in the league stage of the competition. India started the tournament with an impressive six-wicket win over Australia in Chennai and went on to defeat all nine teams en route to the semi-final.

They defeated New Zealand in a high-scoring last-four clash but then lost to Australia on a tricky pitch in Ahmedabad. Kohli finished the tournament with a record-breaking 765 runs from 11 innings while Shami took 24 wickets from seven games. This is the second time an Indian men’s team has lost to Australia in an ODI World Cup final.

ALSO READ: David Warner to Miss T20Is Against India Due To Workload Management

In 2003, the Sourav Ganguly-led side had also made it to the title clash before finishing as the runners-up to Ricky Ponting’s men. Australia has now won a record-extending six ODI world cups. The two teams will now switch to T20I mode as they are all set to renew their rivalry with a five-match series starting this Thursday. India has named a 15-man squad for the five matches with Suryakumar Yadav as the captain.