Ravi Shastri’s Tenure With Team India To End After The World Cup
By Aditya Pratap - Mar 20, 2019 9:41 pm
Views 72
Share Post

Team India’s head coach Ravi Shastri’s tenure as a coach will end after the conclusion of upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales. Shastri came at the helm after Team India’s shocking defeat against arch-rival Pakistan in the final of ICC Champions Trophy 2017. On a two-year contract, Shastri’s services will end soon with the Indian team.

Ravi Shastri

However, he is likely to continue as the coach after the World Cup but the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will force to restart the process. The contract of Shastri didn’t have any clause to renewal or extension. Thus, a fresh process to elect the head coach of Team India will take place post the World Cup.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri is expected to get an extension till T20 World Cup 2020

Talking about this development, a senior BCCI official told PTI on condition of anonymity, “From Anil Kumble’s time, the service contract of the coaches and support staff doesn’t have an extension or renewal clause. Therefore, even if India wins the World Cup under Shastri’s coaching, he will have to come through the fresh recruitment process even though he will be a direct entry into the shortlisted panel as current coach.”

The official said that the BCCI needs to follow the due process of putting up an advertisement on its website for filling up the various positions of support staff in the senior India line-up.

“Shastri, Sanjay Bangar (batting coach), Bharat Arun (bowling coach) and R Sridhar (fielding coach), their contracts will end with India’s last match in the World Cup. With only 14 days left for the inaugural World Test Championship matches against the West Indies, we need to complete the process in due time. But everything will happen after the World Cup,” he quoted.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri broke his silence over Indo-Pak WC clash controversy

The official also indicated that there is very little chance of Shastri being replaced if the team reaches at least the semi-final since under his tutelage, India has beaten Australia in a Test series Down Under for the first time in 71 years and also won ODI series in South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

Team India won the historic first Test series in Australia

“The Indian women’s coach WV Raman and the national selectors have given 30 names and there will be 12 foreign players,” he further added.

It has also been learned that this year, the mini-IPL for women will role with three teams and four games on a round-robin basis. Last year, one exhibition match was held.

“So there will be three teams of 14 players each and they will play once against each other and then the final,” the official said.