Rishabh Pant Gets Another Chance In The Nidahas Trophy
By CricShots - Feb 25, 2018 7:08 am
Views 62

The hectic schedule of the Indian team has already been criticized by the skipper Virat Kohli ahead of the ongoing tour of South Africa. But now, with India’s T20 tri-series (Nidahas Trophy 2018) involving Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on the cards. BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the tournament and once again they have given younger guys a chance to perform.

Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni rested for Nidahas Trophy 2018

While Kohli’s name was the first one to pop-up as soon as the discussions over handing workload, MS Dhoni, who only plays limited overs cricket, will also miss the Nidahas Trophy 2018 and some other big players will join him and Kohli out of the roster as well.

Also read: Virat Kohli Couldn’t make It To FICA’s Top 10 T20 Players’ List

Along with skipper Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya have been rested for the tri-series in Sri Lanka. The decision to rest the crucial players in tri-series has been taken keeping in mind the players’ workload because of the grueling South African tour. 

The Chairman of All-India Senior Selection Committee, MSK Prasad, said: “We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury. Mr. MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest.”

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in Tri-series

Rohit to lead India in Nidahas trophy 2018

In the absence of Kohli, Rohit Sharma will take the reigns of captaincy in Kohli’s absence and Shikhar Dhawan will be his deputy. While Dhoni’s absence will help players like Rishabh Pant to showcase their talent in Sri Lanka. Youngsters like Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Siraj, Pant have a got another chance to showcase their talent.

Also read: Complete Schedule Of The Nidahas Trophy 2018

The Nidahas Trophy 2018 is scheduled to start on March 6 and ends on 18th of the same month. All three teams are expected to arrive at the Island Nation by March 4.

Indian squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wk).