Twitter reactions: SA vs Ind (3rd T20I) – India clinched the T20I series after surviving form the debutant Jonker’s knock
By Sandy - Feb 24, 2018 8:24 pm
Views 32

India survived from debutant Christiaan Jonker’s late attack as the visiting team won the match by 7 runs and clinched the three-match T20I series. It was the third and final T20I between the hosts South Africa and the visitors India at the Newlands (Cape Town), where India won the thrilling match and claimed the series by the 1-2 margin.

After the ODI series, India also won the T20I series by 1-2

After winning the toss, South Africa decided to field first. Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who was the captain in charge for this match due to the absence of Virat Kohli, again fell on cheaply as he scored only 11 runs.

Another opener Shikhar Dhawan carried on the innings along with Suresh Raina. Raina was in attacking mood while Dhawan was very much under control. Both of them put an important 65-runs partnership for the second wicket before Raina was dismissed on 43 runs off 27 balls.

Since then, every other Indian batsman put important contributions to make a good total but failed to shape into the long innings. Dhawan was the highest scorer of this innings who was dismissed for 47 runs off 40 balls during the 16th over. At the end of 20 overs, India managed to put a total of 172/7.

Also watch: Dala’s direct-hit deceives Dhawan

Junior Dala was the best bowler among the hosts’ side. He had a bowling figure of 4-0-35-3 while Chris Morris (2/43) picked up two wickets and Tabraiz Shamsi (1/31) claimed a wicket.

In reply, South Africa had a slow start from where they failed to come out at the end. In-form opener Reeza Hendricks was sent back to the pavilion for just 7 runs.

While the hosts’ skipper JP Duminy was fighting very hard against the Indian bowlers and managed to achieve good success at later, the other batsmen failed to provide any support to him. After completing a brilliant half-century, Duminy was dismissed soon on 55 runs and the match was looking like out of their hands as they still needed 64 runs in just 24 balls.

Also watch: Bumrah castles Morris

But, the debutant Christiaan Jonker had the other mind as he began a counter-attack and continuously carried on that successfully till the final over. With his unbelievable knock, Jonker scored 49 runs off just 24 balls while his team were found just 7 runs short of India’s total at the end of the innings.

Farhaan Behardien also contributed an important knock in his little time as he was not out on 15 runs off just 6 balls. Jonker and Behardien put a brilliant 51-runs partnership off just 21 balls for the sixth wicket but just failed to save the team.

Among the Indian bowlers, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/24) took two wickets while Jasprit Bumrah (1/39), Shardul Thakur (1/35), Hardik Pandya (1/22) and Suresh Raina (1/27) picked up a piece of wicket each.

In this India’s 7-runs victory, the comeback man Suresh Raina is selected for the Player of the Match award for his superb all-round performances. Meanwhile, Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the Player of the Series award.

Talking about Shikhar Dhawan’s contributions in this series


Delighted with Suresh Raina’s performances in all three departments




Congratulation messages for team India to win the match and also claim the T20I series 






Rising expectation after Suresh Raina selected as Player of the Match award