Virat Kohli Went Past The Record Of MS Dhoni As The Indian Skipper
By CricShots - Jan 29, 2020 5:48 pm
Views 56
Share Post

On Wednesday, Virat Kohli surpassed the record of his predecessor, MS Dhoni to become the leading run-scoring captain for India in T20Is. Kohli achieved this feat during his 38-run knock in the third T20I against New Zealand in Hamilton. Virat took just 37 innings to overtake Dhoni’s tally of 1,112 runs as T20I captain.

Virat Kohli reaches another record

South African Faf du Plessis leads the chart with 1,273 runs and he is followed by New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson who has 1,148 runs to his name as captain in the shortest format. Records and Kohli always go hand-in-hand in recent times as every time Indian skipper comes out to bat he is always within touching distance of breaking some record or the other. 

ALSO READ: Netizens Went Berserk As India Won A Humdinger In The Super Over

In the match, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul got India off to a flying start as they added 69 runs in powerplay — that too without losing any wicket. Rohit played a blistering knock of 65 runs and kept on smashing the Kiwi bowlers. However, New Zealand bowlers removed Rahul and Rohit in the ninth and 11th over respectively to bring their side back in the game.

Rohit Sharma went berserk in the Hamilton T20I

After their dismissals, Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer smashed a few boundaries in the middle overs to balance the innings for India. Just when things looked in control for the men in blue, Iyer was dismissed by Santner while Kohli failed to give a powerful finish to the innings. In the end, all they managed was 179 on the board with the help of Manish Pandey and Ravindra Jadeja.

Team India has taken an unassailable 3-0 lead in the five-match T20I series at the Seddon Park in Hamilton. India defeated the host in a humdinger of a match that went into the super over as the men in blue chased down 18 runs owing to the brilliance of Rohit Sharma. Earlier, the New Zealand skipper, Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to field first.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma Joins The Elite Club of 10,000 International Runs

While India made no change in the squad, the hosts replaced Blair Tickner with Scott Kuggeleijn. It was absolutely thriller in Hamilton as Rohit overshadowed one of the best T20I knocks of Williamson. The incredible final over from Mohammed Shami in which he took two wickets and defended 9 runs.