IJPL To Be Conducted In Dubai Without BCCI’s Approval
By CricShots - Sep 1, 2017 9:23 am
Views 71
IJPL Launch

Another franchise-based T20 tournament named Indian Junior Player League T20 (IJPL T20) will be played in Dubai between September 19th to 29th September but it does not get the approval from BCCI.

The reports suggest that the IJPL T20 will involve 240 players selected from a nation-wide talent hunt of over 55,000 players. Explaining it further, IJPL director Sampat Rai said: “We had sought BCCI permission but we have not yet received any reply from them. Also I don’t think BCCI will have any objection as this is a platform through which we are trying to promote talent.”

The matches are scheduled to be taking place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Actor-director Arbaaz Khan, younger brother of Salman Khan is the owner of Mumbai Masters while another actor Rajeev Khandelwal is the owner of Rajasthan Roarers franchise. The total prize money for the tournament is INR 21 lakh.

India opener Gautam Gambhir is a brand ambassador for the league. South African ace Jonty Rhodes and West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard are also coming on board as mentors. In a press release, Gambhir said, “I’m delighted to be part of the IJPL T20 which is a unique platform for youngsters in India to showcase their talent and get into the limelight during the conduct of the League. I take this opportunity to convey my best wishes to each of the 240 players.”

The 16 teams participating in the tournament are named as Gujarat Greats, Kolkata Strikers, Bangalore Stars, Assam Rangers, Pune Panthers, Delhi Dashers, Ranchi Boosters, Punjab Tigers, Dehradun Rockers, UP Heroes, Hyderabad Hawks, Chennai Champs, Rajasthan Roarers, Mumbai Masters, MP Warriors, and Haryana Hurricanes.

The event will have 16 teams are divided into 4 groups where all the teams will play against each other once. The top-2 teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals.­