Match Report
NZ vs Ind (Third ODI): India Secured The Series With Another Comfortable Victory
By Sandy - Jan 28, 2019 4:27 pm
Views 56

The visiting side India secured the ongoing five-match ODI series against the hosts New Zealand after winning their third straight ODI in this series. In the third ODI of the series at Bay Oval (Mount Maunganui) on Monday (28 January), India won by seven wickets (with 42 balls remaining) and also has taken the lead of 3-0 in this series.

Indian cricket team

Leading the series by 2-0, India made two changes in the playing XI while the hosts New Zealand had the solitary change from the previous ODI. While Mitchell Santner replaced Colin de Grandhomme in New Zealand playing XI, Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya have been added in the Indian squad as the replacement of MS Dhoni and Vijay Shankar respectively.

Also read: Twitterati Erupts As Hardik Come In For 3rd ODI And Dhoni Goes Out

After winning the toss in this very important ODI, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson decided to bat first. Once again, the openers failed to provide the good starts as the openers Martin Guptill (13) and Colin Munro (7) both were dismissed very cheaply.

Also watch – Guptill Plays Helicopter Shot, Bhuvneshwar Takes The Revenge

Struggling on 26/2 at the very early period, the Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson and the experienced batsman Ross Taylor tried to control that innings. Williamson and Taylor had the 33-run partnership for the third wicket before Williamson lost his wicket after the comeback man Hardik Pandya grabbed a stunning catch at mid-wicket.

Also watch: Hardik Pandya Takes A Stunner In His International Cricket Return

After that, Taylor had a 119-run partnership for the fourth wicket along with the wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham. While Taylor completed his half-century in 71 balls, Latham completed his half-century in 62 balls. Just after completing his half-century, Latham was dismissed on 51 off 64 balls (1 four and 1 six) and since then New Zealand lost their wickets in regular intervals. Taylor unluckily missed his ODI century as he was dismissed on 93 runs off 106 balls (9 fours). While once New Zealand were batting on 178/3, they were bundled out for just 243 runs in 49 overs.

Also watch: Kiwi Batsmen Ran Four Runs And Hardik Gets A Wicket

Among the Indian bowlers, the Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/46), all-rounder Hardik Pandya (2/45) and the leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (2/51) picked up two wickets each while another pacer Mohammed Shami (3/41) got three wickets.

Also read: Umpires Miscounted An Over Of Hardik Pandya

In reply, India chased down the target comfortably and secured their series victory in this tour. After the opener Shikhar Dhawan lost his wicket on 28 runs, the top two ODI ranked batsmen, skipper Virat Kohli and the opener Rohit Sharma provided the 113-run partnership for the second wicket. Both scored half-centuries as Sharma scored 62 off 77 balls (3 fours and 2 sixes) while Kohli played the 60-run knock off 74 balls (6 fours and only six).

Later, the next batsmen Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik put the 77 runs partnership for the unbroken fourth wicket as India chased down that target in 43 overs after losing just three wickets (245/3). Rayudu remained not out on 40 runs off 42 balls (5 fours and only six) while Karthik was not out on 38 off 38 balls (5 fours and only six). The Indian pacer Mohammed Shami once again won the Player of the Match award for his outstanding bowling performances.

Dinesh Karthik and Ambati Rayudu

Among the New Zealand bowlers, the left-arm pacer Trent Boult (2/40) bagged two wickets and the left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner (1/45) picked up the only other wicket in that innings.

Here are some Twitter reactions: